Cross Platform Backup Solution 3/3 (Linux)
Articles,  Blog

Cross Platform Backup Solution 3/3 (Linux)


Open the source partition and the target folder for check the result. Open up rsync backup script file and terminal. If your system time is the same between different systems,
Use the default setting compare file time and size. If not, change synchronization mode to file size only,
This will also skip files that has the same size change with a small probability. The shell will regard backslash as one line, so we can’t comment between the first line and the second line. If you don’t want backup some files, move these lines back and uncomment. Or you want exactly same backup keep exclude filter empty. If the same data already exist,
The synchronize operation will just only copy modified part. If it doesn’t exist, it will create a new copy. Note that, if you selected wrong target partition or folder,
It will delete everything inside that partition or folder with delete option. Without delete option there will be some old files left inside destination after synchronization. Delete a folder for demo. Start synchronization. The deleted folder shows up again. Open the source partition and the target folder for check the result. Open up G-RSync. Delete a session for demo. Add session. Select the source partition and the destination folder. This program will create a new folder inside destination folder. So, Select the parent path of the destination folder. Check delete on destination box. If the same data already exist inside the destination,
The synchronize operation will just only copy modified part. If it doesn’t exist, it will create a new copy to the destination. Note that, if you selected wrong parent destination partition or folder,
It will delete everything inside that partition or folder with delete option. Without delete option there will be some old files left inside destination after synchronization. If your system time is the same between different systems,
Use the default setting compare file time and size. If not, change synchronization mode to file size only,
This will also skip files that has the same size change with a small probability. If you don’t want backup some files add exclude option to the additional field inside advanced tab. Or you want exactly same backup keep exclude filter empty. Delete a folder for demo. Click execute button to start synchronization. The deleted folder shows up again.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *